top of page
  • Madison Whitehead

Sweet San Sal Mems

Now that our two week study abroad has concluded, I have looked back on all of the experiences and knowledge I have gained. On the road trip home from the airport, I read my daily journal that I wrote about the activities we did to my mom and realized even though I struggled at times, that this was an amazing experience. I am very thankful that I was able to meet each student and learn from Dr. Weese and Dr. Devore all of the knowledge that they hold about the Bahamas and the organisms that inhabit it. Reading and publishing blog posts, learning about new organisms in the field from Mrs. Sandy, and “trauma” bonding with all of the students living in the dorms allowed me to appreciate that I am able to attend a program like this. While on the island, our group visited at least two sites a day that included a land excursion like hiking or going into caves in the morning, and snorkeling in clear, turquoise water every afternoon. I didn’t care much for the land excursions due to the constant swarm of bugs (twelve species of them) and intense heat, but I did need them because this trip forced me to drink more water than I ever have in two weeks. My favorite land excursion would be visiting the iguanas on the islands and feeding them orange peels while they bobbed their heads at us. I really wish I could’ve brought one back with me. Snorkeling would be my favorite activity, which led me to learn after studying and looking at the species in the Bahamian fish species book, that my favorite fish is a Blue Tang. Whilst floating and flipping around in the ocean, I would usually lay on the surface of the water letting the current and waves pull me while I watched groups of Blue Tangs swim and eat the algae on the coral. I loved to see how close I could get to the fish and see if I could catch them when they swam away quickly. Another sea creature that everyone loves, but I especially did was the Hawksbill Sea Turtle that I saw on our first day of snorkeling in Dump Reef. It was the only sea turtle I saw on the trip, and it was a special experience because it made eye contact with me and then swam directly under me close enough to touch. Reflecting back on our excursions, I miss being able to see all of the native wildlife that I am not able to see at home. While studying Marine Biology and Global Climate Change was interesting and informative, one of my fondest memories is visiting Mrs. Juanita at her house and learning about the plants and crops she grew in her garden. She is the sweetest woman ever and let us have one of her papayas to share. A life experience she taught me is that no matter what you have or where you live, always be joyful and kind to those around you and life will be easy. The Bahamian people were amazing and kind people that I will miss being around. I am very glad I decided to attend this trip to gain an expanded mindset about how others live and learn from them about how I should also live.












17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page