top of page
  • Meghan Mainor

Reflections From Back Home!

Overall my experience in San Salvador was an extremely beneficial one not only academically but personally. It was a very interesting experience living amongst my peers in close quarters that were un-air-conditioned and in what seemed to be a constant state of dampness due to either sweat, shower water, or ocean water. However, I actually was able to appreciate this experience very much. It made me realize the things at home I so easily take for granted such as my own space and air conditioning. In San Salvador, I was also able to meet so many wonderful friends of which I most definitely would not have met anywhere else. All of my

peers were so kind and welcoming and I was so grateful to be able to have met them all.

I also witnessed the kindness and sense of community the residents of San Salvador have. Every single resident I encountered whether that be someone that worked at the center, who was working at a store, or was simply driving passed us was all so kind and genuine. This is something that I found really heartwarming and very noticeable.

Being able to snorkel and see new things every day was such a treat that I am most definitely missing. I did not think that by the end I would be able to get into the water and swim to a nearby reef and be able to identify most of them. I was able to see so many amazing creatures some of my personal highlights being a spotted eagle ray, nurse shark, flounder, and so many more!

One thing I learned that really disturbed and surprised me was that on San Salvador Club Med was an anchor project in which the prime minister approved and promised jobs to the Bohemians. However, in doing this he also made a water promise that promises 100,000 gallons of water to Club Med. Coburn town is on a well and Club Med being there it caused the water in Coburn town to become undrinkable and brackish. This caused a water crisis for the island. This has since been resolved but this shocked me.

Another thing that I got out of this trip was the realization of the true crisis that coral reefs

are facing. Many of the reef beds we swam over were either dead or dying and a lot of the coral we saw had disease on it. This was very hard to see but it opened my eyes to how much climate change is affecting such beautiful once lively areas of coral.

This trip also solidified the fact that I would like to have a marine science concentration. It was so amazing to be able to learn about organisms firsthand in the field and it has definitely sparked a further interest in this realm of science for me.

I am very glad that I was fortunate enough to go on this trip and experience the Gerace research center. I have definitely come back with so many great stories to tell and great memories, many of which I am already finding myself looking back on.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page