top of page
  • Madison Whitehead

Packing & Preparations

There is only one more day until we fly into the Bahamas, and I couldn’t be more ready to go! I have experienced a wide range of emotion about the upcoming excursions beginning at exhilaration, with a hint of nervousness, and finally ending at relief that I have all of my packing and planning done with. The aspect of the trip that I am most enthusiastic about is being able to snorkel for the first time in the clear, blue water of the Bahamas. The aquatic creatures present in the Bahamas are unlike any I have ever witnessed, so I am elated to learn the taxonomy and lifestyles of these unknown organisms. Even though I am excited about the academic setting I will experience, my exhilaration does not come without some restlessness. There is a slight unease that has come and gone like waves in my mind about my preparedness on this study abroad trip. I know there are many people that have advanced knowledge of how to snorkel and maneuver their way around a Bahamian Island that I myself do not have. The main apprehensions present in my mind include my snorkel gear failing, getting sick on the island, getting sun poisoning, and coming into contact with an unfriendly animal in the ocean. As I write these aspects of my unease out, I begin to realize that although they are valid worries it is more important to continue on through the trip with a positive mindset and the probability of these apprehensions occurring are slim to none. As for one of the hardest parts of the actual trip, packing has finally concluded and I have double checked the Gerace Research Station’s information guide to make sure I have everything I may need on the island and in Nassau. The information guide has been one of the most helpful, practical aspects of preparing for two weeks on the island. Reading the guide and doing extra google searches has given me insight into the life and culture of the Bahamian people that inhabit San Salvador Island. The most important bit of information I have read has prepared me to interact with the locals on the island in a respective manner and in a way that will not result in the production of a global footprint. There are so many of my fellow students that I am thrilled to meet, and a lot of academic knowledge that I can learn from Dr. Weese and Dr. Devore that is my main goal that I would like to accomplish at the end of this study abroad. I wish you all luck with packing and preparing for the Bahamas!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 1 of many ;)

Traveling and i have a long history; i never truly loved leaving my hometown for a foreign experience. However, i loved immersing myself...

Comments


bottom of page