top of page
  • Tiffany Baptiste

Are We There Yet?

One of the worst things to do to a professional procrastinator is to give them more than five months to prepare for a two-week trip go another country. So my first challenge in preparing for this trip? Motivating myself to pack.


Don't get me wrong - I've been extremely excited to have this opportunity to study outside of the United States. I'm going to be learning in the Bahamas? It really can't get much better than this!


But I waited, and I waited, and I waited.


My main problem is that I always manage to convince myself that it's too early to start packing, that I'd know more about what exactly I needed to bring when the departure date became closer... and then it was the Thursday before my flight was supposed to leave. So what did I do with my last 72 hours?


I waited some more, obviously!


I at least had enough sense to get my snorkeling gear and bathing suits ahead of time, so I didn't need to do my usual last-minute spree on Amazon prime. I had the packing list that had been provided to me, and some prior knowledge from other trips that I've taken in the past. I was honestly just scrolling through the lists of recommended materials, saying to myself "Oh yeah, I totally have that." So I still managed to convince myself that I was prepared despite not even having packed my bags.


I finally decided to get myself together when I only had about 30 hours left. I scrambled and packed shirts, shorts, towels... toiletries, first aid supplies, bed sheets. I'm honestly surprised that I only really needed to run to the store for snacks. But of course, I picked up some extra just-in-case items! I definitely tend to be the opposite of a light packer, but I did my best in limiting my items to exactly what I would need.


Though I procrastinated majorly on physically preparing myself, I feel that my mental preparation for the trip could make up for that 'lost time'. My major resource has been the information guide given to us by Gerace Research Station (with the assistance of Google). I've been able to gain more insight about the islands we'll be visiting, specifically regarding the atmosphere/culture. My anxiety is no longer about how I'll manage once i get there, but instead about when I'll be there. I feel like I've been mentally ready to go for weeks!


Knowing me, I'll probably become extremely anxious once I'm actually boarding the plane. Not sure why that always happens when I fly, but I end up fine. I'll be flying with a friend anyway, so hopefully I'll be able to distract my mind until we take off.


Prayers for everyone to have a smooth and safe flight, I'll see you in Nassau!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 1 of many ;)

Traveling and i have a long history; i never truly loved leaving my hometown for a foreign experience. However, i loved immersing myself...

Comments


bottom of page