top of page
  • Dr. DeVore

It's Always Better in the Bahamas

Welcome to the 2023 Bahamas Study Abroad Program. I am the second faculty member and will be teaching GC2Y Ten Plants that Changed the World and Global Climate Change.


It is exciting to do something new and different like take part in this program. I have taught and conducted research in the Bahamas since 2000. I could write a long blog about how geology field school in the Canadian Rockies shaped my future. Or how I was talked into entering a PhD program by a faculty mentor who nudged me. And of course, there is another inclination that I have that is shared by Bahamians and played a role in conservation on San Salvador Island.


I am not going to write about any of that. I was pegged to do a TEDx talk and talked about all those things. And to have to be so brutally honest in filming that video, it made me think how good it is to do things that make us uncomfortable and require us to rethink things about ourselves and others. So here is a link to that TEDx talk that is not largely about anything scientific.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction- Bradley

Hello, my name is Bradley Niekamp and I am going into my 5th year at Georgia College. I am from Atlanta but have recently been living on...

Comentarios


bottom of page