top of page
  • Grace Cote

Goodbye San Sal, Hello Milly

Although this trip was fatiguing in a myriad of ways, there were still innumerable memories that we shared together. I have not only seen the most beautiful terrains filled with bustling coral reefs, turquoise tides, and exotic fauna and flora, but gained a deeper appreciation for these through new and extensive knowledge of their presence on this island. Some of my favorite experiences from the trip included our first bonding night at Orange Hill, long walks on North Point, the swim trip to Iguana island, and the boat ride to one of the largest reefs I have been blessed to see. These 2 weeks were packed with truly transformative experiences that allowed me to further hone in my species identification skills while enjoying my time on the island with new friends.


I want to first say that I have never been snorkeling before, and was honestly scared of much of the ocean life because of what I could not see. However, this trip allowed me to appreciate the beauty in not knowing something by being able to learn about the unknown. I was able to do this by observing and identifying new organisms each night and detail them in my field book. Some of my favorite organisms were the spotted eagle ray that was a mere 10 feet away from us gracefully gliding through the manatee grass. Another species was the San Salvador rock iguanas that were bobbing their heads at our nipped-up and fruit-covered fingers. It was both memorable and documented via AWESOME photos ( big shout out to Anjali for being the best photographer on this trip). And finally, I would not live with myself without admitting my obvious captivation for the avifauna. It was exciting to finally see species like the magnificent Frigate bird and yellow crowned night heron after taking Ornithology. I would not have been able to see any of these species in Milledgeville, and for that I thank this trip. Aside from the more obvious “interesting” species, I also became infatuated with many annelids, echinoderms, and arthropods. Some of my favorites in those groups included the bearded fire worm, brittle star, and spiny lobster( all of which have a less than impressive sketch in my field notebook).


Now what blog post from me would be complete without a tipping of the hat to the food! I realized far too late into the trip that I could have been making ICED coffee the entire time! But it was alright because we had layered Mac n cheese, chicken sandwich lunches and burger dinners always served with copious amounts of delicious vegetables. And if you know me, I have always cleared my plate clean after each meal. I am grateful for the staff that prepared the meals and water that properly fueled me the entire trip!


Ultimately, these experiences in San Sal would be close to nothing without the tight nit group we have all come to rely on. It was joked that we were “trauma bonded” but the connection I have made between everyone in this trip was truly incredible. Never had I thought having a 6 person room in no air conditioning would be enjoyable, but sleepy morning and bustling night time conversations altered my initial premonitions. The running away from hoards of no see ums and “skeeters”, the salt water leaching through our masks from a smile or chortle, counting off 23 people in the back of a sun soaked truck, and liberally lathering on a concoction of baby oil, sun screen, and bug spray have bonded me to these people in no other way. Although some times were certainly arduous, we had each other to lean on. And now we can all go back to Milledgeville with not only these experiences, but immense knowledge that we had the privilege to gain these past 2 weeks!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page