top of page
  • Kaylie Heidt

Goodbye San Sal: back to reality

Although this trip was challenging in many ways, I will never forget the memories that were made in San Salvador. We got to experience a whole new world, much different than Milledgeville, which I am forever grateful for. The land itself was beautiful as well as the crystal blue water, the soft sand, the greenery on the island, the bahamian people, and much more. This trip allowed me to appreciate the beauty of the world we live in and gave a lot of insight about it. I have the teachers to thank for giving us knowledge about San Sal that I never thought I would know. Some of my favorite memories from the trip are bonding with everyone, staying at orange hill, going out on the boat to the coral reef, feeding the iguanas, seeing the giant spotted eagle ray, and so much more.


Before the trip, me and my family have always loved going to different beaches and we would go snorkeling most of the time. My favorite trips with my family were when we would go to the bahamas. We have gone to Exuma, Nassau, and Grand Cay. The coral reefs are beautiful there as well as the marine life. To be able to visit a different part of the Bahamas and see how different they are is mind blowing! Also, from the trip I learned about the different types of reefs which are barrier, fringe, and patch reefs. Now looking back to previous trips, I realize now that those were the different types of reefs we snorkeled and could easily identify them now. Another thing that I took away from our trip is being able to identify marine life. Some of my favorite organisms we saw were the brittle star, tiger grouper, San Salvador rock iguana, squirrel fish, spotted eagle ray, and so much more. I have seen a spotted eagle ray before with my family in the Bahamas from above the water for a split second, but to be in the water with one and following it was such an adrenaline rush!


One thing I learned from the teachers on this trip that stuck out to me the most was the impact on the coral reefs, not only in San Salvador, but all over the world. Coral bleaching has been a rising problem due to climate change and other factors. Greenhouse gases in the atmosphere have led to an increase in temperature which has heated up the water, affecting coral life. This rise in water temperature also generates infectious diseases that kill the coral. Not only does this affect coral, but the marine life that it inhabits. They no longer have a food source, which threatens their survival.

This trip will forever be a core memory of my college experience although it came with a few rough patches. All 23 of us are as we say, ”trauma bonded” and each and every person will hold a special place in my heart. From fighting off viscous no see ums and mosquitoes to learning to adjust without AC, I would not trade it for the world! We giggled through the pain of being constantly covered in sweat, bug bites, baby oil, bug spray, and lotion, but ultimately I would not want to do that with any other people. I love each and every one of you guys so much and I wish you all the best in the future!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page