top of page
  • Emily Granier

Emily Granier - Introduction

Hey everyone, my name is Emily Granier, and I am a rising sophomore at GCSU. My major is Environmental Science with a concentration in Marine Biology! As for background, I have always had a love for the ocean, marine animals, and marine life conservation. In early high school, I had no clue what I wanted to do with my life later on, much less know what I wanted my major to be in college. I joined the high school swim team with a few of my friends freshman year and fell in love with all things water. I soon became a lifeguard, swim lesson instructor for ages 3-12, swim coach, and pool manager. At the beginning of my senior year of high school, I figured I would take my love for water, the ocean, and swimming one step further and get SCUBA certified. This experience was such an eye opener for me, and I soon knew that I wanted to pursue marine biology in the future. I wanted to start early in my experiences, so I applied for the Georgia Aquarium. I went through a rigorous interview process, soon got the job as a Beginner Environmental Leadership Volunteer, and I worked most of my weekends at the Georgia Aquarium! Being around animals and acquiring aquarium knowledge and experience, I fell in love with the environment and marine biology, as I realized I have never been happier and looked forward to any other job as much as I did with this one.

When I heard about this study abroad opportunity from a friend of mine who’s also going on this trip, I knew I could not pass it up. I have only ever been out of the country twice, once on a cruise pre-covid and recently to Mexico after high school graduation, and this Study Abroad opportunity to San Sal does not compare to any other opportunity I’ve received. I am so excited to grow in knowledge, experience, and meet new people on this study abroad trip!





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction- Bradley

Hello, my name is Bradley Niekamp and I am going into my 5th year at Georgia College. I am from Atlanta but have recently been living on...

Comments


bottom of page