top of page
  • Brenna Hendrix

Brenna Hendrix Introduction

Updated: May 13, 2023


Hello! I am Brenna Hendrix, and I just walked last week but I will officially graduate in August! I am a biology and psychology major, and I am excited to finish my class work in the Bahamas! Starting in August, I will be working on my master’s in biology. Besides my school life, I am a huge animal lover so I have two cats and a dog that I will miss dearly while we are gone. That’s why I am hoping to fill this void with marine animals!




The past few years at Georgia College has gotten me really into research as I have worked in a neuroscience lab, and I’m continuing this into my masters. That’s why I’m glad I can peruse different research this on the trip, especially more field-based research. My project will analyze the effects of shell harvesting on the island. This will require me to look at shells being sold to tourist to see what species and sizes are sold.

While I haven’t taken any marine biology classes, I have gotten to go on a research cruise with Dr. Weese’s marine biology class. This cruise was off the coast of Skidaway Island and allowed students to view marine animals, as well as take water samples and specimens. This cruise has made me really excited for our study abroad trip, as we get to see more of the animals’ habitats.







I also have two saltwater tanks with my girlfriend. One is 20 gallons, and the other is 13.5 gallons I believe. Once my girlfriend got me into this hobby, it made me want to learn more about corals, and sea life. That is why I am also hoping to experience coral in its natural setting, as well as learn more about them!


This is my first study abroad trip, and while I am nervous about getting through the airports, I am excited to get to know each of you! Safe travels!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction- Bradley

Hello, my name is Bradley Niekamp and I am going into my 5th year at Georgia College. I am from Atlanta but have recently been living on...

Comments


bottom of page