top of page
  • Maggie Standard

Maggie Standard - Intro

Updated: May 30, 2023

Hi everyone! I am Maggie Standard, and I am taking the GC2Y “The 10 Plants that Change the World” class with Dr. Devore. I am a first-year student with a class standing of a sophomore. After this summer I will be done with my core and will continue my pursuit of an art degree. Strangely enough, even though my passion lies in art, I do love science as well. I have always enjoyed science, especially life science classes from high school and college too. I know it is strange for an art student to go all the way to the Bahamas for a GC2Y class in science, but I love to travel and thought I would take the opportunity to travel outside the country for the first time. I have lived in a small town in Georgia my entire life, and although my family and I love to travel I have only been to a few places, but as I said before never outside the country.

I have heard the Bahamas are beautiful and I can only imagine how amazing San Salvador must be. My expectations for this trip would be to explore and find various parts of the earth I have not seen yet. I have been snorkeling many times before in Steinhatchee, Flordia, and Hanauma Bay, Hawaii, but never in the Bahamas. I cannot wait to not only snorkel but hike around the island to see every aspect of what the island has to offer. I hope to learn more about how the plants in our lives impact us without us even knowing and how to use them to our advantage.


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page