top of page
  • Kaylie Heidt

Kaylie Heidt Introduction

Hey guys! My name is Kaylie Heidt and I was born and raised in Savannah Georgia. I am a rising fourth year student here at Georgia College and am a biology major. Ive loved my Georgia College experience with friends, in the classroom, and with my dog of course! He is a lab/ great Pyrenees mix and is the sweetest, goofiest dog you will ever meet. I love being outdoors and especially love being in the water, so hearing that there was an opportunity to go to the Bahamas and study the thing I love, how could I say no? Ive been to different parts of the Bahamas, but never to Nassau or San Salvador Island! Me and my family have come and snorkeled, fished, enjoyed the boat, and explored so i'm excited to do these things through the school while making deeper connections with the things we learn and our environment. I am especially looking forward to the marine biology course for the fact that we are learning about the marine fish, invertebrates, and other organisms and how they interact with their environment. Not only am I taking the marine biology course, but am also doing undergraduate research there. I am so unbelievably grateful to have an opportunity like this because who wouldn't want to do their research in the Bahamas, am I right? There I will be studying the Anchialine ecosystems in the pools on San Salvador Island!

I hope I can gain a lot of knowledge from these two courses. I want to be able to take the knowledge ive learned and use it when going to different beaches all around and to share my knowledge with my family. I have very high expectations for this trip and strongly believe it will be very beneficial and give a lot of insight on one of the types of ecosystems in the world! I also hope to be able to apply the things I learn to future biology classes. I am taking ichthyology next semester so i know learning about fish in the bahamas will be a very helpful for that class.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page