top of page
  • Megan Shekell

Introduction- Megan Shekell

Updated: Jun 1, 2023

Hey y'all, my name is Megan Shekell and I am a junior biology major at Georgia College. I currently have a minor in Spanish which I finished this past semester. I am so excited to have the opportunity to study abroad especially since I didn't think this opportunity would come especially in the Bahamas. I am currently deciding if I want to continue and get a master's in biology or continue into professional school. This has been a big struggle as I achieve my undergraduate especially since, I really enjoy both sides of biology, human biology, and zoology. When I first arrived at Georgia College, I was dead set on being a pediatrician, but through taking numerous courses with different scopes into the branches of biology; I have opened my possibilities into other avenues of biology that I never knew were options. One area of interest that is definitely new, is my interest in marine biology. I used to be really afraid of the ocean when I was younger but, as I've taken classes at GCSU my fear has turned into curiosity and I'm so glad I get the opportunity to explore that curiosity on this trip. I am still a bit timid of the water and, have a very cautious curiosity of marine life and the water but, I am still excited. I think my overall excitement paired with my research into the native fish of the island has helped me feel better prepared for the week of playing mermaid in the Caribbean waters. That is one of the main reasons why I was so intrigued about this study abroad, I have never participated in field research to this extent before and I am really excited to get this experience and see if it is something that I might have a passion for. Besides that I hope that I can learn an better appreciate the marine life from this course. I feel like the ocean is a big unknown to many people including myself and I hope to be bale to learn a great deal about marine life. In the secondary course of undergraduate research I hope to learn how to properly construct research and, what parameters I may take for granted when reading others research that I will be subjected to during this course. I am so grateful for the opportunity to go to San Sal and am so excited to learn and experience this unique opportunity of doing study abroad.



On a more personal note, some fun things about me are that I have a cat at my apartment in Milledgeville and three dogs, a cat, and a tortoise at my house in Grayson, Ga. I went to a fairly large high school which GCSU often reminds me of. I grew up around Stone Mountain GA and as I mentioned prior, I have never been on a study abroad before. This also means that I have never flown internationally, so I am a little nervous and excited to go through that. I have worked, and currently work as a gymnastics coach, and I have done gymnastics and cheerleading since the age of 3! It is something I have always found extremely joyful and I love teaching it now while I work towards my future at school.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page