top of page
  • Erik Wolstenholme

Introduction-Erik Wolstenholme


Hey! My name is Erik Wolstenholme. I am a rising senior and I am currently majoring in Environmental Science with a marine science concentration. I am also working towards getting my GIS certificate. I am so very excited to have this opportunity to travel to an area of the world that hosts so much biodiversity. I have always been amazed by the ocean and the biological functions that play a role into having a healthy ocean. Last

summer I worked at the Georgia Aquarium, where I sparked my interest in working in marine science. While at the aquarium I took many classes on coral reefs as well as many other ocean phenomena. I would also have to lecture to large crowds about science on a level that everyone at all ages can understand. Over the course of this last year, I have been working at Lockerly Arboretum, where I take care of about 10 reptiles in the interpretive center. Every week I take care of an alligator, turtles, snakes, and a few others. A normal day includes feeding them and making sure their habitats are of the correct environmental conditions for them to survive. I am very thrilled about possibly seeing an iguana while I am on my experience. I am really looking forward to getting a real experience of being in the field every day, and I am excited to test my limits of being able to stay out in the hot sun all day. By taking marine biology I am hoping that it will help me have an upper edge in ichthyology which I am taking next semester. I am also very involved with music, and it is a very big hobby of mine. I am a multi-instrumentalist and I have played in many different bands for events in Milledgeville, and throughout Georgia. I am looking forward to meeting all of you guys! See you in Nassau!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page