top of page
  • Carter Lillis

I'll miss you San Sal

Updated: Jun 1, 2023

Looking back on the trip, overall, I would say that I enjoyed it. Of course, this trip has had its ups and downs. From being swarmed by bugs, to sweating buckets every night only to waking up at 7:30 for breakfast, it was not easy. However, I think that it was worth it to be able to see and visit a beautiful coral reef every day and really get to explore the island. The views and nature that are on San Sal are one of a kind and I think that despite the difficulties and issues of the trips it was worth it. I do wish I knew a little more coming into it. If I had known a little more about the research station, I would’ve brought a few extra things that would’ve made my life easier. However, the sights that I saw were well worth the trouble. I think the program was set up well. Dump reef and Graham’s harbor were a great way to start the trip, as they both had little currents and were easy snorkel trips. It allowed everyone to adjust to using their fins and snorkel gear, while still getting an introduction to some of the animals and reefs of the island. It also helped us get accustomed to a few of the common reef organisms that we would see. Seeing a barracuda on the first day was really exciting and such a cool sight to see, especially for the first day. After that the snorkeling got gradually more challenging, as the currents/ waves increased a little with each subsequent reef we went to. I felt like this was great as each day everyone got a little bit more skilled and used to snorkeling. One of my favorite days was the trip to Sand Dollar beach. While this beach had one of the toughest currents that we had to deal with, the reef was beautiful, and I got to see some amazing animals that I had yet to see. Seeing the colorful parrotfish for the first time was a sight to behold. I had never seen such brightly colored fish in my life, and this was definitely a first. Also, on this trip I was able to see a full size porcupine fish hiding in the reef. Another one of my favorite trips was the trip to East beach. This beach was one of the longer beaches that we saw, but it was covered in trash. Seeing the beach made me think about how much trash is in the ocean, and really made me want to make changes within myself and the world around me so that this beach could one day be clean. The day trips were all interesting and informative, while the reefs were beautiful and great snorkel spots. The evening lectures/ meetings did tend to be a little tough though, due to everyone being tired from the busy days. Overall, the trip was fun despite some of the challenges, but the views and experiences are worth it and something I will not forget.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page