top of page
  • Erik Wolstenholme

Erik- Settling into the Research Center

When we first pulled into the research center, I was very taken back by how old the research center was. I knew going into the trip that there was going to be no air conditioner in the dorms, so I was already expecting to feel uncomfortable. I have heard of the bugs as well and how we need to purchase repellent. I have been camping at the beach many times where it is hot, and buggy. However, the first night here I slept terribly. Before I even went to bed, I was already soaking wet with sweat and the bugs were biting me all night, so I was extremely uncomfortable. I don’t mind anything about the research center but the heat. But being in the dorm room just makes me want to get outside and swim in the ocean. I did really enjoy the food. I was very surprised how many snacks and other things that are available for purchase on the research center. For example, I only brought one tube of sunscreen and I am really worried about running out of sunscreen, so I am very thankful that I can purchase extra sunscreen because I know the UV index is very strong on the island because we are very near the tropic of cancer. I am going to start applying sunscreen and try to get a tan when we snorkel in the morning. Then during our afternoon snorkel, I plan to wear a shirt when I swim because the UV index usually peaks between 2-4 pm. I enjoy the schedule on the research center. I naturally wake up early so getting up for breakfast at 7:30 a.m. is no problem for me I really enjoyed it. The first morning on the research center I woke up extremely early at 6:00 a.m. because I was so uncomfortable in my bed from the heat and bugs. I then walked down to the beach for a little bit to get some fresh cool air something that I felt I was deprived of that night. I went down to the beach with the hopes of seeing a dolphin. Whenever I go to the beach early in the morning in the past, there is a pretty good chance that I saw a dolphin. I think I am settling into the research center fine, and I know every single guy’s name, but I am still working on the girls. I am sure I will not want to leave the center when we have to next week.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page