top of page
  • Noah Rylee

The Best Time In San Salvador

I absolutely love San Salvador; it is such a beautiful and unique place. I have loved the structure of our day-to-day learning. Being able to go out and snorkel in a different place every day or go hiking to light houses, walking along the sandy or rocky beaches, or even exploring the cave systems here is great and always is teaching me things about the island. Just from doing some minimal walks and swims I have learned that the island is very unique when compared to other islands. I am hoping that we get to swim to the shelf, that is the one thing that I have been looking forward to this whole trip. Getting up at 7:00 for breakfast and going out after then class late in the day has benefited me because by the end of the day, I am truly exhausted and can get the sleep that I need to keep going and not be tired the nest day. My favorite place so far has been Columbus Landing. It was a really far swim, but the reef was one of the best I have ever seen. Just in span of an hour and a half I saw multiple species of Angel fish, southern stingray, a male and female stoplight parrot fish, and so many types of coral I couldn’t count. The coolest fish I have seen so far is the porcupine fish which is a kind of pufferfish. I thought pufferfish were small but that is only in fish tanks. These pufferfish are big before they inflate with air. I have enjoyed my time here and hope to keep enjoying it until the last day. Having class at the end of the end of the day is really nice too because after a long day in the sun we get to chill in the air conditioning and talk about what we see and why we see all kinds of things at different places. I feel like I would want to come back and do this again sometime if I had the chance to see if any of the coral reefs have changed or if any of the local life had changed. This trip has definitely exceeded my expectations on how it would be and about what we would be seeing. If you are not high maintenance then I would highly recommend the trip.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page